AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Rachel Hamilton

Author photoRachel Hamilton
WebsiteReview BlogGoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterest
Rachel Hamilton is a graduate of both Oxford University and Cambridge University and has put her education to good use by working in an advertising agency, a comprehensive school, a men’s prison and on a building site.
She developed a passion for story-telling as a long-suffering English teacher, when she discovered it was the best way to get her students to stop talking and listen to her. Rachel divides her time between the UK and Dubai, creating funny books for 9 to 13 year-olds and encouraging kids to be proud of the things that make them unique. After winning a prize in the Montegrappa First Fiction Competition at the 2013 Emirates Airline Festival of Literature, she received an offer of representation by London agent, Luigi Bonomi, followed by a two book deal with Simon and Schuster. Rachel loves to make people laugh, especially when it’s intentional rather than accidental.

NOVELS:

  • THE CASE OF THE EXPLODING LOO (Simon and Schuster, May 2014)
  • THE CASE OF THE EXPLODING BRAINS (Simon and Schuster, February 2015)
  • LOUIE LETS LOOSE (Oxford University Press, February 2016)

20524926THE CASE OF THE EXPLODING LOO by Rachel Hamilton

Quirky twelve year old Noelle (Know-All) Hawkins may be one of the brightest girls in her class but even she can’t explain how her dad, wacky scientist Big Brain Brian, spontaneously combusted while sitting in a portaloo. It’s true that he was working on a new top secret Brain Ray machine and was on the point of a great break-through when he vanished – could this have had something to do with his disappearance? Know-All is sure all is not as it seems and with the help of her sister Holly she is determined to find out what really happened to her dad! (more)

“Rachel Hamilton is a bit too funny for my liking. Please don’t let her write any more books.” — Jonathan Meres, author of The World of Norm


By2672DCAAAxI2z.jpg-largeTHE CASE OF THE EXPLODING BRAINS by Rachel Hamilton

Science, silliness and super-villains make this a perfect read for fans of David Walliams, Simon Mayo and Liz Pichon Noelle “Know-All” Hawkins has another case on her hands.Her famous scientist dad – Professor Brian “Big Brain” Hawkins – is in prison as a result of his portaloo mishaps. A trip to the Science Museum results in an international mystery involving the moon, some mindreading, and an awful lot of grumpy people. But how are they all connected? Noelle, Holly and Porter are on the case. Will they piece together the crazy clues in time to save the planet? And why is Dad walking round prison with a blanket on his head? Rachel Hamilton does it again in this laugh-out-loud detective story for both boys and girls. (more)

“As sparkling, entertaining and laugh-out-loud funny as The Case of the Exploding Loo . . . I absolutely love these books.” — Tatum Flynn, author of The D’Evil Diaries


9780192744975

LOUIE LETS LOOSE by Rachel Hamilton

In this hilarious new fiction series, Louie the unicorn searches for stardom in New York City. Louie’s story is brought to life with a unique visual approach, combining real New York photography with funny character illustrations. Dear Ma and Pa, The New York School for Performing Arts is the perfect place for a unicorn like me. So far it has been totally AWESOME! Madame Twirler says that ‘pigs will fly’ before I get the lead part in a show. Man, I would LOVE to see that! After all, New York has a unicorn in town, so why not flying pigs? Love you more than cake, Louie xx

Advertisements

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,267 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 129,351 hits