AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Martin Griffin

CQPjzu3WsAAFI35Martin Griffin
BlogGoodreadsTwitter

Martin Griffin writes sci-fi and fantasy adventures for young readers. His debut novel, THE POISON BOY, won The Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction competition in 2012 and somehow managed to get shortlisted for Staffordshire Young Teen Fiction Award, the North East Book Award, the Leeds Book Award, the Calderdale Children’s Book of the Year, the Kent Themed Book Award and the Branford Boase Award, without winning any of them. A teacher at the time, he wrote using the name Fletcher Moss to keep it secret from his students. He returns to his real name for his second novel, LIFERS, a super-dark contemporary prison-break adventure, his first novel for teen readers. Martin lives in Manchester with his wife and child.

NOVELS:

  • THE POISON BOY (Chicken House, April 2013)
  • LIFERS (Chicken House, April 2016)

17237541THE POISON BOY by Fletcher Moss

Poison boy Dalton Fly, a lowly food taster to the rich, has a lucky escape after drinking laced wine. But his mate is less fortunate, and Dalton wants answers. Who murdered his friend, and what were they really after?

With the help of aristocratic girl Scarlet Dropmore, whose life he unwittingly saved, he sets out to rescue his city from the poisoners within. (more)

“The story is quite grisly and Dickensian, while at the same time being packed with mystery and suspense that keeps the pace moving along swiftly.” — Kat Ellis, author of Blackfin Sky


LIFERS-website-678x1024

LIFERS by M.A. Griffin

Fear haunts the streets of Manchester: a schoolgirl has disappeared.

Preston is drawn to investigate, exploring the city in the hunt for his missing friend. Deep in the bowels of a secret scientific institute, he discovers a sinister machine.

Captured and condemned to a cavernous space filled with problematic teens, Preston is determined to escape – but this is no ordinary jail. Friendships are forged and lives lost in a reckless battle for freedom, revenge – and revolution.

Packed full of high-octane adventure and tension; perfect for fans of The Maze Runner who crave a grittier real-world setting.


The Poison Boy, shortlisted for The Leeds Book Award, The Calderdale Children’s Book Award, The Staffordshire Young Teen Fiction Award, The Dudley Book Award. Long listed for The Branford Boase Award.

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,154 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 113,869 hits