AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Why you need to read Eve Ainsworth’s TENDER by Emma Pass

 

There are quite a lot of perks to being an author/bookworm, and one of them is being lucky enough to nab early copies of some of the best YA novels around. One of those books was Eve Ainsworth’s Tender, which was published by Scholastic yesterday. Here’s the blurb:

 

Marty and Daisy spend their lives pretending. 

 

Marty pretends his mum’s grip on reality isn’t slipping by the day. Daisy pretends her parents aren’t exhausting themselves while they look after her brother. They both pretend they’re fine. That everything is fine.

 

But the thing about pretending is, at some point, it has to stop. And then what?

 

And the cover – gorgeous or what?!

 

 

Tender is, in my opinion, Eve Ainsworth’s best novel yet (and I don’t say that lightly!). Marty and Daisy are very real and relatable protagonists, and the story is beautifully written and tightly plotted, making Tender the sort of compelling, read-in-one-sitting kind of book I love. Ainsworth has a remarkable insight into the issues that affect modern teenagers – issues that are too often glossed over or hidden away – and presents them in a way which is neither judgmental or heavy-handed. Despite the desperate struggles Tender addresses, the characters and story have room to breathe, and the overall message is one of hope. Perfect for fans of Catherine Barter and Joanna Nadin – and don’t forget to check out Eve’s other books, 7 Days, Crush and Damage, too!

 

23Eve Ainsworth
WebsiteFacebookInstagramTwitter
Eve Ainsworth’s debut YA novel, 7 Days is a contemporary dual narrative novel focused on bullying will be published by Scholastic in Feb 2015. A second contemporary novel will be published in 2016. Eve works in a large secondary school, as a Child Protection Officer, whilst also concentrating on her writing. Eve has had competition success with her short stories, most recently in Prima and Writer’s Forum. A short story has also been published in The Weekly News. Her previous Young Adult novel, The Art of Kissing Frogs, was shortlisted for the Greenhouse Funny Prize (June 2012). She lives with her husband and two slightly nutty children in Crawley, West Sussex.

 

Emma Pass PhotoEmma Pass
WebsiteBlogGoodreadsFacebookTwitter

Emma Pass has been making up stories for as long as she can remember. Her debut novel, dystopian thriller ACID, won the 2014 North East Teenage Book Award, was picked as one of YALSA’s Top Ten Amazing Audiobooks for 2015 and was nominated for the Carnegie Medal. Her second novel, THE FEARLESS, was also nominated for the Carnegie and won the 2016 Concorde Book Award. Emma lives with her artist husband and crazy greyhound G-Dog in the East Midlands, and, when she’s not writing, runs writing workshops in schools and community settings, mentors other writers and is a reader for The Literacy Consultancy. She is also the co-founder of the UKYA and Children’s Extravaganza (UKYACX), a regional book event celebrating the huge diversity of children’s and YA literature in the UK.

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2018 by and tagged , , .
%d bloggers like this: