AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Opening Locked Doors – My research process

The last post in our Throwback Week is from Rhian Ivory. Rhian’s new book, Hope, is out on 15th September.

AUTHOR ALLSORTS

Ten years ago I visited Edinburgh for the first time. I had gone up for the festival and fell deeply in love with the city. I went back again, fell in love some more and regretfully went home. But a voice wouldn’t leave me alone, a lovely soft Scottish burr kept whispering in my ear telling me bits of a story. She turned out to be Isla and I wrote her narrative in a slight Scots dialect because I really wanted anyone who might read the book, if I were ever lucky enough to be published, to hear her voice as I did.
I read lots of non-fiction books about Edinburgh, devoured many novels by Glaswegian James Kelman who captures the Scottish accent so beautifully and looked a lot at my photos of Edinburgh. In all honesty it seemed pretty easy. It didn’t feel like hard work, which is how…

View original post 878 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2017 by .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,260 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 127,253 hits
