AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

My TBR Pile by Sarah Baker

My TBR pile doesn’t get any shorter. I do read the books, but I keep adding new ones too, so it always seems to stand around fourteen books high. They’re not in any particular order, as my toddler likes reorganising things on a regular basis. This is quite an eclectic list, but I’ve been reading nothing but books about, or set, during WW2 as research for my second book, Eloise Undercover, so it’s exciting to catch up on something totally different. And there are so many wonderful books out there…

 

PIC A

 

FIRST LIGHT, edited by Erica Wagner, is an anthology celebrating the work of Alan Garner published through Unbound. I’m a huge Alan Garner fan so this was a must. I’ve been saving it.

 

PIC 1

 

I’m also saving Circling the Sun by Paula McLain. I loved The Paris Wife so much; I want to relish every word of this.

 

PIC 2

 

Author, Catherine Meade, recommended The Dark Circle by Linda Grant to me and said I must read it immediately. Since this photo was taken said book has been moved to my bedside table. I’m on it, Catherine!

 

PIC 3

 

It’s possible that I’m the last person on earth to read J.K Rowling’s Harry Potter and The Cursed Child. I have actually just read it (as a treat for finishing edits) and my thoughts went a bit like this: ‘what?’, ‘oh no!’, ‘really?’, ‘what?’ and ‘yay!’ There might have also have been tears. Happy tears.

 

PIC 4

 

My friend, Andrew Hally, gave me Alan Partridge’s Nomad and I’m looking forward to snorting with laughter when I read it, which means I’ll probably be on public transport.

 

PIC 5

 

Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts is the book that made random people stop and talk to me when they saw me reading it. Once when I was waiting to have my toes rebroken and set in A&E, for example. No pressure then for The Mountain Shadow, though I do love a good epic and can’t wait to read this (preferably with toes intact).

 

PIC 6

 

I’ve heard wonderful things about The Wolf Wilder by Katherine Rundell and this hardback copy is so pretty. Also, wolves!

 

PIC 7

 

I was at the launch for Lorraine Gregory’s debut, Mold and the Poison Plot and am really looking forward to reading this. It’s the book my toddler is always picking up out of the pile to wave at me. Point taken. I’ll read it next.

 

PIC 8

 

King of the Castle by Bob Baker (my Dad) is a must read too. It’s the book version of the 70s TV series he co-wrote with Dave Martin. Am hoping my Dad won’t mind that I haven’t read it yet as he’s such a prolific writer I can barely keep up.

 

PIC 9

 

I just know that the Bookshop Girl by Sylvia Bishop will be wonderful. Books, bookshops and great characters by the author of Erica’s Elephant. What more could I ask for?

 

PIC 10

 

Knitbone Pepper by Claire Barker is currently being read (by me) and I’m loving it. It’s clever, witty and utterly delightful. I thoroughly recommend it.

 

PIC 11

 

Five Forget Mother’s Day by Enid Blyton (sort of). This was a gift from my mother on Mother’s Day. I opened it at a random page and started giggling so I really must read the whole thing. At some point.

 

PIC 12

 

Friends and family are divided over the Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry. Half of them loved it so much they keep asking if I’ve read it yet and the others, well, didn’t and don’t. Am intrigued and will report back…

 

PIC 13

 

Sitting at the top of the pile (and has just been read) is Cowboy Pug by Laura James. It’s the second of Pug and Lady M’s adventures and is just as madcap as the first. Really great fun and I look forward to the next installment.

 

PIC 14

 

 

Sarah Baker Author Pic A 2016.jpg

Sarah Baker

WebsiteTwitterInstagramPinterest

Sarah Baker has worked extensively in film, with roles at Aardman Features and the Bermuda Film Festival, and as Story Editor at Celador Films. She has also been a writer and blogger for vintage fashion magazines. Sarah currently lives in London with her son. THROUGH THE MIRROR DOOR is her first book, a time-slip novel for 9+ that’s perfect for fans of Emma Carroll, Katherine Rundell and Robin Stevens. Her second novel, ELOISE UNDERCOVER, is a thrilling middle-grade adventure set during WW2, available September 2017.

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2017 by .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,260 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 127,312 hits
%d bloggers like this: