AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Books on my TBR Pile by Kendra Leighton

 

Like many readers, my To-Be-Read pile is constantly changing. I’m good at getting to new books fast (so new! so shiny! so much twitter hype!), but not always so good at getting to older books.

Here’s my current TBR…

Erica’s Elephant by Sylvia Bishop, illustrated by Ashley King
I recently read and loved The Bookshop Girl, so grabbed a copy of this duo’s debut. With big font and pictures, this is one I’ll look forward to when I fancy a light, quick read.

Day 7 by Kerry Drewery
Sequel to Cell 7, this is at the top of my TBR. Cell 7 was clever and thought-provoking, and I do love sci-fi and dystopia, so can’t wait to get cracking with it.

Freshers by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison
This pair’s books are an auto-buy for me. I thought Lobsters was hilarious, Never Evers sweet, and am looking forward to the authors’ return to older characters in Freshers.

Lady Audley’s Secret by Mary Elizabeth Braddon
Now onto the dustier volumes on my TBR… I bought Lady Audley’s Secret to read as part of the #2016ClassicsChallenge, but never actually read it. I might be a year late, but I *will* finish the challenge. Maybe. Some day.

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
The most neglected of all books on my TBR, I picked up this second-hand copy a couple of years ago after watching the TV adaptation. I loved the show, but the book is huge. It was one of my 2016 resolutions to read it, but I…didn’t. Will I ever? Who knows!

 

Have you read any of these? What’s on your TBR?

 

Save

Save


Kendra LeightonAbout Kendra

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

Kendra’s YA debut, Glimpse, was inspired by Alfred Noyes’ poem ‘The Highwayman’. It was published in 2014 by Constable & Robinson. Kendra also runs an organic chocolate company. When she’s not writing, she can usually be found taste-testing chocolate, reading YA, or trying to steal other people’s cats.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 12, 2017 by and tagged , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,271 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 131,419 hits
