AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Sob Stories

I don’t know about you, but my favourite books, the ones I remember years later and reread countless times, are the ones that pack an emotional punch. Sometimes it’s how much they make me laugh, but mostly it’s how much they make me cry. I’m a crier. I love books that break my heart. (Indeed, it makes my day every time someone emails or tweets at me to tell me how much The Lost Girl made them cry. Oh, I broke you into a thousand little pieces? TELL ME MORE.)

And the mark of an extra special book? The fact that it can make me cry in public. I’m talking tears, snot, the surreptitious scramble to hide my face from the people around me, the full works. There have been exactly eight of those in my entire life. So here’s my list of

Exactly Eight Books Ranked by How Much I Cried in Public (Now Please Go Read Them and Share My Pain)

8. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

7. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

6. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

5. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

4. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling

3. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

2. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

1. Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt

And there you have it: a list of favourite books measured by number of tears shed in public. Share yours in the comments!

About Sangu Mandanna

YA author of THE LOST GIRL and A SPARK OF WHITE FIRE. Also a wife, mum and Netflix addict.

One comment on “Sob Stories

  1. What a great list! There are some real tear jerkers there. Try my YA novel Paradise Girl – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33947430-paradise-girl – it too will generate some sobs.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2017 by and tagged , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,264 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 129,236 hits
