AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

My Desert Island Books by Kendra Leighton

Let’s assume I’ve already packed the survival guides (because I’d survive about two hours otherwise. Even camping is a bit too Robinson Crusoe for me). Here are the three fiction books I’d pack to get me through the lonely days.

 

The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

The Blind Assassin

Officially my Favourite Novel of All Time, The Blind Assassin would have to go in my suitcase. It’s my most-read book, and I know I could get lost in it when I need a distraction from foraging for edible grubs or hiding from spiders. (Please say this island has no big spiders…?)

It is a bittersweet novel, though, so I’d need something to cheer me up after the weepy bits. So I’d also pack my favourite funny YA….

 

Lobsters by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivision

Lobsters

Bound to have me giggling, however dire my situation. (Well. Dependent on the spiders.) As well as being funny, Lobsters is also brilliantly *real*, so would help remind me of pre-desert island life and what it was like being around other human beings. (Or being around seventeen-year-old humans, at any rate.)

For my third choice, I’d take a book to help with the survival aspect of things, and inspire me to keep fighting and hoping. Something post-apocalyptic or dystopian would be perfect, preferably involving survival outdoors. So I’d pack YA classic…

 

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

 

The Hunger Games

If Katniss can hunt in the woods, sleep in trees, invent clever strategies to survive, and have a happy(ish) ending despite everything that’s thrown at her, then so can I. Maybe if I look around the island long enough I’ll find Peeta, and he’ll have brought croissants…

 

Which books would you take to a desert island?


Kendra LeightonAbout Kendra

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

Kendra’s YA debut, Glimpse, was inspired by Alfred Noyes’ poem ‘The Highwayman’. It was published in 2014 by Constable & Robinson. Kendra also runs an organic chocolate company. When she’s not writing, she can usually be found taste-testing chocolate, reading YA, or trying to steal other people’s cats.

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2017 by and tagged , , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,263 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 125,007 hits
