AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

I Never Liked Nancy Drew

Nancy drew

I consider it a mark against my character that I never liked Nancy Drew.

She was just so nice. Her manners were unbelievably good. In my own life, I never met anyone so…  pleasant.

The worst thing she ever did was poke around an abandoned house looking for bad guys with her clean-cut boyfriend, whose name eludes me. Even then, she was always home in time for dinner.

It was because of her that I gave up on crime books at eleven, thinking crime just wasn’t for me.

So it would be years before I discovered I had a murderous streak when it came to fiction.

Discovering King

I suppose it was Stephen King that did it for me. I read Salem’s Lot – about a group of vampires who move into small town America and lay waste to it – at sixteen. From then on, I was hooked.

Salems lot

Now, technically, Salem’s Lot might be horror but, at its heart, it’s a murder mystery. A child is killed and that murder kicks off an investigation across the town. One by one, the investigators are taken. Until there is almost no one left.

Really, it’s Agatha Christie with fangs. And I loved it.

From then on, crime was my thing. I read all the Sue Grafton novels from A to… well. I think she’s on V now. I absorbed the forensic work of Patricia Cornwell’s ice queen Kay Scarpetta, albeit a bit squeamishly. I followed Ian Rankin’s Rebus through the dark streets of Edinburgh, and Lee Child’s Jack Reacher across the dusty roads of America.

I devoured those books – sometimes in a single day.

Gamechanger

But it wasn’t until I read The Secret History, that I fell truly in love with a crime book.

Secret history

The Secret History changed everything.

Written by the American author Donna Tartt, the book tells the story of a scholarship student admitted to a private liberal arts college in New England. Upon arrival, he discovers privileged, glamorous students in a pristine mountain setting. And murder.

Caught up in studies of ancient Greek plays and poetry, the students go too far, killing one of their own. Then they cover it up.

The setting, the students, the seductive world of Hampden College – it all comes together to make an unforgettable tale. One I could see myself inside.

One I could imagine killing for.

It’s a study of friendship – and of trying so hard to fit in that you’d do anything to be accepted. Anything.

I knew from the moment I closed that book that I wanted to write about crime. I wanted to understand how it tangles up in people’s lives, and pulls them under.

Crime writer

Studying crime

My first job after university was as a crime reporter for newspapers in America. And my first lesson on the job was that most crimes aren’t about good or bad people. They’re about good or bad decisions.

Decisions made in the spur of the moment. Decisions made in panic. Or in anger. Or in fear.

And once a decision is made, a machine buried somewhere deep in our society and our collective conscience rumbles into life. You can almost hear its sputtering start at any crime scene.

A body lies on the ground, police move slowly around it. Crowds gather to watch. And for everyone involved, nothing will ever be the same.

That’s what I write about. The dangerous, frightening, all-destroying machine of crime.

This is why my books have crime at the centre, but are not just about crime. They’re about the people crime destroys. The victims. Their friends. Their family. The criminals. And what happens after the crime.

The way vengeance inevitably leads to more pain.

Writing crime

The Night School series is about how the vengeance of Nathaniel St John against his family consumes the lives of Allie and Jo and Carter and Sylvain and everyone at Cimmeria Academy. People from different lives and different backgrounds, all caught up together in Nathaniel’s web.

The Secret Fire has, at its heart, a three-hundred-year old murder – an alchemist, wrongly executed in the 17th century – which is destroying the lives of two young people today. Because of the all-consuming vengeance of the victim.

There’s no Nancy Drew in any of my books. Although there’s more than a little Stephen King. And Donna Tartt.

But then, maybe I never would have read King, Child, Cornwell or Tartt if I hadn’t first been a ten-year-old, bored by books adults thought I should like about good detective girls who are always home in time for supper.

Come to think of it, it’s entirely possible I owe Nancy Drew my whole career.

Thanks, a lot, Nancy.

 

 

 

 

About CJ Daugherty

Former crime reporter CJ Daugherty is the author of the international best-selling Night School series, and the co-author of The Secret Fire. The first book in that series is out now in the UK and the US.

One comment on “I Never Liked Nancy Drew

  1. Mina Witteman
    July 29, 2016

    Yes! Kay Scarpetta did it for me too, and before her I was addicted to Ellery Queen and Edgar Wallace. And The Secret History did ignite the crime writing fire in me, because it’s about murder but even more about the people and how they can push each other, literally and metaphorically, over the edge. Like you I love exploring the turbulences that spin off the crime vortices and the dark stillness at the hearts. Thank you for sharing, CJ!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,260 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 127,253 hits
