AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

View From A Desk

The first thing you should know is, don’t believe a word she tells you.

She’ll say she likes to be at her desk at nine – and maybe she likes it but I can tell you now, that doesn’t mean she does it. Half nine on a good day. Occasionally I can even hear the beginnings of Women’s Hour before she plonks her ass down on my chair.

Also, she’ll say she always works at her desk in her study. That’s true in the sense that she isn’t one of these writers who takes her laptop to bed, and to be fair she never sits at me in anything remotely resembling deshabillée, but she sometimes cheats on me with the kitchen table. She says it’s because the kitchen is warmer and being an impoverished writer she has to think of these things. I think she just likes its proximity to the kettle. This year she decamped to the kitchen for the whole winter and only returned to me in May.

IMG_3264

my rival — upstart

She’s a tea fiend but to be fair she doesn’t cover me with cup rings and spillages. I’m not under any illusions about that being concern for me – she’s just terrified of destroying her precious MacBook. So the tea lives on the windowsill, which is handily just beside me. There’s a view too – I mean, I don’t get to see it: she has me facing a wall; but she looks out sometimes when inspiration fails.

IMG_3268

I don’t get to see this

Recently she covered part of me with a large plastic placemat thing; it’s from IKEA – bit infra dig; I’m from an antique shop – but it’s supposed to protect me. I’m quite old and I sag a bit in the middle: I have been pre-owned, and to be fair, when I think of how I used to be treated, I have to admit she’s not the worst.

You’ll look at the photo and assume she tidied me specially but actually she does keep me reasonably neat. She doesn’t like mess, and she always tidies up at the end of each day. Still, I’m not what you’d call minimalist either: apart from notebooks and pens and books, there are always a few gewgaws sitting about. (I’m over 100 years old; I use words like gewgaw.)

IMG_3267

Tidy but not freakishly so. 

Sometimes she looks at me and sighs and says I’m past my best, and I know she fantasises about an Edwardian desk with lots of drawers and fancy slidey-out bits for her pens, but I’ve seen what she earns: I’m safe for the foreseeable.

 

 

About sheenawriter68

I write books, drink tea, and sing.

6 comments on “View From A Desk

  1. Sarah
    June 16, 2016

    Love this! Thanks for sharing, it really made me smile 🙂

  2. mishaherwin
    June 16, 2016

    Reblogged this on Misha Herwin and commented:
    How about adding your own desks to this thread.

  3. mishaherwin
    June 16, 2016

    Inspired me to think about my desk and what it might be thinking.

  4. janebadger
    June 16, 2016

    Loved this. If my desk could talk, it wouldn’t talk. It would just weep.

  5. writeanne
    June 16, 2016

    Great post – very witty – made me smile. Just as well my desk can’t talk. 🙂

  6. sheenawriter68
    June 17, 2016

    Thanks for all the lovely comments: my desk loved being called witty.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2016 by and tagged .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,248 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 123,147 hits
