AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Instagram is Dawn Kurtagich’s BAE

 

I generally think in pictures.

 

I’ve loved telling stories since I was a tiny thing that could barely drool. But the actual “words” part of that came later. At the very beginning, I grasped and told stories via pictures (I am dyslexic). Mostly, I drew long, elaborate cartoon strips—whole notebooks full of the same story.  They were usually tales about sisters with magical powers, of whom two would inevitably be scarred by some terrible event; one sister would break and become helpless damsel in distress (my least favourite sister) while the other would become a raging badass (she was my girl).

 

summer-glau-serenity-river-tam-most-badass-women-warriors-in-film

 

Now, in my twenties, this need for visual stimuli, visual imput and (of course) my daily dose of daydreaming, is still as powerful as ever. So, naturally, my writing relies heavily on the images in my head and the images around me.

 

Which means that Instagram is my bae of the social media world.

 

instagram is bae DK

 

 

I LOVE INSTAGRAM. I declare it proudly. It is such a (generally) beautiful place. People upload visuals of their most cherished, harrowing, magical and touching experiences there. Bloggers talk about their passions (fashion, food, health—and my favourite: BOOKS).

 

Bookstragram became my hood.

 

I fell in love with the hashtags (#socksunday #Instabook #booknerdigans #supportYA) and the community. Because, it really is a community. People demonstrate their love of books et al with incredible talent. I decided to give it a go too.

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 23.13.25 copy

 

But not only that! I decided that I wanted to showcase the things in my life that are artistic and beautiful. My husband and I have a motto: Live an artistic life. Even if you’re cutting a slice of bread, make that the most beautiful slice of bread you’ve ever seen. Going for a walk? Find the most magical, beautiful sight you can and realize how blessed you are.

Challenge: Accepted.

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 23.17.23 copy

 

 

The things I love to post about most: My cat.

 

nature:

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 23.28.41 copy

 

books:

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 23.28.24 copyScreen Shot 2016-05-12 at 23.18.27 copy

 

creepy, weird things that inspire my writing:

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 23.30.48 copyScreen Shot 2016-05-12 at 23.30.36 copy

 

Things about the #authorlife:

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

And, finally—and this is my main reason for loving Insta: I can be myself. (And no one can stop me! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!)

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Instagram is a photo album of your life, a community, and a way of connecting. It’s one of the ways that I remember to be grateful for everything I am, see, do and feel. Connecting with people of passion is a passion of mine! And Instagram is the perfect way to show that passion in a nice photo album I can visit whenever I like.

 

What do you guys use Instagram for?

 

Come say hi on instagram, peeps! I often run secret giveaways there! 😉 @dawnkurtagich

~~~

 

DK Smaller

Website|Twitter|Goodreads|Instagram|Facebook|YouTube
Dawn Kurtagich is a writer of creepy, spooky and psychologically sinister YA fiction, where girls may descend into madness, boys may see monsters in men, and grown-ups may have something to hide. Her debut YA novel, The Dead House (2015, Orion/Indigo (UK) and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers), and The Creeper Man / And The Trees Crept In (2016).
By the time she was eighteen, she had been to fifteen schools across two continents. The daughter of a British globe-trotter and single mother, she grew up all over the place, but her formative years were spent in Africa—on a mission, in the bush, in the city and in the desert.
She has been lucky enough to see an elephant stampede at close range, a giraffe tongue at very close range, and she once witnessed the stealing of her (and her friends’) underwear by very large, angry baboons. (This will most definitely end up in a book . . . ) While she has quite a few tales to tell about the jumping African baboon spider, she tends to save these for Halloween…
When she was sixteen, she thought she’d be an astronomer and writer at the same time, and did a month-long internship at Cambridge’s prestigious Cavendish Laboratories.
She writes over at the YA Scream Queens, a young adult blog for all things horror and thriller, and she is a member of the YA League.
Her life reads like a YA novel.

About Dawn Kurtagich

I am the author of The Dead House, The Creeper Man / And The Trees Crept In, and Naida. I vlog over at WritaholicDK on youtube, and I really love paint. You are all my happy bananas.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2016 by .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,208 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 120,202 hits
