AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Instagram adventures with Kat Ellis

I love a good visual. I wouldn’t have gotten through school without colour-coded revision notes and spider diagrams covered in glitter, and when I need writing inspiration now, I usually find it in pictures. But I wasn’t really sure what to do with Instagram at first.

I approached it like I would a jellyfish washed up on the beach: frowning and poking at it with a stick before running away. But I kept coming back. (To Instagram, I mean. Not the jellyfish.) Browsing through hashtags like #bookstagram, #ukya, #catsofinstagram, #shelfie, #scenic, #wales and so on, I found lots of amazing photos of the things I’m interested in. Whatever your poison, you will find pictures of it on Instagram. It wasn’t long before I was posting there pretty much every day.

As an author, I love sharing pictures of the things that inspire me and my writing, so my feed is full of scenic shots, creepy places, and anything that makes my brain click into writing gear. As a reader, I also want to know what my favourite authors are inspired by. And I want to see their cats. And their bookshelves. So I post those too.

This was my first ever post on Instagram. Naturally, it was a picture of my cat, Pilot.

image1 (5)

I often share photos of the books I buy/read, sometimes prettifying them with different apps because I have a black belt in procrastination.

image1 (2)image1 (1)

If I have news about my own books, I’ll usually post a pic related to that, too… like when I have a beautiful book cover to reveal.

image1 (6)

When I’m not working, I’m usually walking around North Wales. It’s pretty photographable, so I tend to share a lot of scenic snaps. Sometimes I add a note about whatever audiobook I’m listening to (because I’m usually listening to something), or random (made up) facts about haunted bridges, witches’ houses and so on. I like to think of this as intersectional hobbying 😉

image1 (4)image1 (7)
Sometimes a meme pops up that I fancy taking part in. Most recently it was #AuthorLifeMonth, with author-ish pics to post every day in February. But generally I stick to what makes me happiest: books I’m reading, things that have inspired the story I’m working on, the occasional selfie, and my cats in their various contorted poses. What more could you want?

I’ll leave you with my most ‘liked’ post ever – Cricket, with my bookshelves behind her. Books + cat = win. Obviously.

image1 (3)

If you would like to follow me on Instagram, you can at instagram.com/katelliswrites

***

 

Kat Ellis is a young adult writer from North Wales. You’ll usually find Kat up to no good on Twitter, taking photographs in cemeteries, or watching scary films with her husband. Her debut novel, BLACKFIN SKY, came out in 2014 and was a Junior Library Guild Fall Pick and a YALSA Popular Paperbacks Pick for Murder, Mystery and Mayhem. BREAKER (Running Press Kids) will be released in May 2016, followed by PURGE (Firefly Press) in September 2016.

Blog  |  Website  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads  |  Facebook  |  Instagram

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2016 by .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,187 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 118,863 hits
