AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Music To My Ears

“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination and life to everything.” Plato

It’s no secret that music creates a strong emotional response in most people. From film scores to advertising jingles, music is used to tap into our feelings and manipulate us.

One of the most beautiful things about listening to a piece of music is that no one can tell you how you should feel. What moves you may not touch me, and vice versa. I especially love how a particular song can transport you back into your memories. For example, every time I hear Clair De Lune by Debussy, it takes me back to a time when I was much younger, when I directed Frankie and Johnny In The Clair De Lune with two brilliant actors in a small theater in California.

But what about the impact of music ON the creative process?

A non-scientific study (talking to a bunch of writers I know) suggests that writers are split down the middle between those that play music while they write, and those that need silence. I’m in the silence group. I need total quiet, a closed door and no interruptions. Guaranteed.

However, between sessions of writing, I find music hugely inspirational. Sometimes a lyric might spark an idea. Other times, I’ll use the emotion or energy from a song to help me get into the right frame of mind to write a scene. Maybe it’s just another form of procrastination, but I love cuing up some music to get me ready for a writing session, and ‘sorting’ my office while I listen to it.

I had a very definite playlist to help me write my first book AFTER EDEN.

I listened to a wider range of music with the sequel, CHASING STARS. But here are a few of the songs that helped me get into the right mood.

  • The Drowning Man – The Cure
  • Radioactive – Imagine Dragons
  • Learn to Fly – Foo Fighters
  • Fashion – David Bowie
  • Run – Snow Patrol
  • Maybe Tomorrow – Stereophonics
  • Across The Universe – Fiona Apple
About helendouglas

Author of books for young adults. After Eden (Bloomsbury 2013) and Chasing Stars (Bloomsbury UK 2014 / Bloomsbury US July 2016)

One comment on “Music To My Ears

  1. Pingback: When Words Leave Off, Music Begins | AUTHOR ALLSORTS

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 29, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,208 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 120,122 hits
