AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Why I love science fiction and why I write it by Bryony Pearce

When I was growing up there were two bookcases in the spare room full of my dad’s books. He had the full PERN series by Anne Macaffrey, Harry Harrison’s Stainless Steel Rat, Frank Herbert’s Dune, Asimov’s Foundation and books by Ursula Le Guin, Peter Hamilton, Robert Silverberg, Roger Zelazny, Arthur C Clarke, Philip K Dick, Robert A Heinlein, Orson Scott Card, Larry Niven and many more. It was a treasure trove.

The ideas that these authors used set my imagination on fire. This wasn’t writing in a familiar setting, somehow these writers had created entire worlds, with their own civilisations, governments, natural laws, science and nature. They had invented technology that didn’t exist yet – and it made sense. They had explored what it would be like to meet aliens, to deal with life on another planet, or in space. This wasn’t just writing stories; this was universe-building. I was awestruck by their genius.

It wasn’t just the world-building that gripped me, it was the issues that these writers were dealing with. First contact with aliens: an analogy for how Western civilisations deal with other cultures. A robot revolution: man’s relationship with technology and ‘just because we can, doesn’t mean we should’. These books dealt with politics, gender issues, religion, racism. They worked through the possible ethics of new inventions, the things that could go wrong in the case of an outbreak, what we could do to prevent war, the list goes on. These books made me think in a way that I’d never been made to think before. I was in love.

When I came to write my own novels, I started in the world I knew, but added supernatural elements (Angel’s Fury). I was still learning, I wasn’t yet brave enough to try and do what my writing heroes had done – create a whole world from nothing. Once I had learned how to write, I began to teach myself how to put a world together.

My second book, The Weight of Souls was set in London, but with elements of Ancient Egypt. Phoenix Rising was set on a post-apocalyptic earth.

Then my imagination was caught by multi-universe theory and so I wrote a book, Wavefunction (out later this year), about a boy who can jump between worlds. In that book I was able to come up with a different, earth-related, world for every jump he made. I was able to consider what the earth would be like if we had completely destroyed the ozone layer. Ask myself what if the polar ice caps had completely melted? What if Christianity had never emerged? What if world war II had never happened? What if the Cuban Missile crisis had resulted in nuclear war?

I had a lot of fun. Science fiction had gripped me, just as it had when I was growing up.

My next book, Windrunner’s Daughter, is set wholly on a different planet – Mars. I had as much fun doing the research as I did writing the story.

I researched the planet of Mars, its terrain, gravity, light levels, orbit, moons and so on, I researched terraforming – the possibilities and ethics and I used this to create challenges for my characters.

Story remains key. Character and plot still drive my novels, but now I am writing in the way I always hoped that I would when I was a teenager and in awe of my dad’s bookshelves. I am world building.

My brain is on fire with ideas that I glean from scientific articles, news stories, research papers. While I was doing research for Windrunner’s Daughter, I came across articles about the possibility of terraforming the upper layers of the atmosphere of Venus – I already have ideas forming for that story.

My next book is going to be a science fiction thriller set on earth, because I have a great story and an earth setting is important for that. Science fiction is not always set in space, science fiction is a genre of ideas and for me story is still king and drives the setting.

But I’ve got Venus ready to go. When a story that fits that world comes to me I’ll be writing that book too.

 

book signing at launchBryony Pearce
WebsiteBlogGoodreadsFacebookTwitter
Bryony Pearce lives in a village on the edge of the Peak District and is a full time mum to her two small children, husband and cat. She is vegetarian and loves chocolate, wine and writing. People are often surprised at how dark her writing is and since the publication, by Egmont, of the award-winning Angel’s Fury, have started looking at her as though worried she might start serial killing in her spare time. ‬‬
‪She enjoys doing school visits, festivals and events, when the children let her out of the house. ‬‬‪Her new book The Weight of Souls was published by Strange Chemistry on 1st August 2013.‬‬ Phoenix Rising was published by Stripes in 2015, and will be followed by a sequel, Phoenix Burning, in 2016. The Windrunner’s Daughter is also out in 2016 from Xist.
‪For more information on Bryony, please visit her website www.bryonypearce.co.uk, follow her on Twitter@BryonyPearce or like her FaceBook author page BryonyPearceAuthor.‬‬

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2016 by and tagged , , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,288 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 133,344 hits
