AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Kendra Leighton: My Most Read Authors

Kendra Leighton's books

 

The Blind AssassinMargaret Atwood

Books read: 16

A few years ago, I went through a phase of buying and reading every Atwood novel I could get my hands on. I don’t love everything she writes, but what I do I love hard. She can write anything from historical fiction to non-fiction to sci-fi, and reveal the heart and truth in any situation. There are still lots of her books I haven’t read and hope to get to soon.

Favourite book: The Blind Assassin.

 

Dead to the WorldCharlaine Harris

Books read: 14

My sister bought a Sookie Stackhouse set and persuaded me to read the first one, and I ended up reading the whole thirteen books! They’re different from what I normally read, but so entertaining. I’ve read the first Harper Connelly book, but haven’t explored Harris’s other novels yet.

Favourite book: Dead to the World.

 

Skulduggery PleasantDerek Landy

Books read: 11

I picked up the first Skulduggery Pleasant a year ago, and have since read all of Landy’s novels. His books have the heart, humour and world-building to equal Terry Pratchett. I’m in awe of how many books Landy’s written since the first Skulduggery came out in 2007, and every one of them complex and top-notch. Demon Road, the first book in his new series, is rather different but just as clever.

Favourite book: Impossible to choose.

 

The Raven BoysMaggie Stiefvater

Books read: 11

I have an on-off relationship with Maggie Stiefvater — I adore some of her books, while others don’t quite chime with me. But even if I don’t love a book, I appreciate her beautiful writing, so I’m always excited about her new releases! Her series The Raven Cycle falls into my Stiefvater ‘love’ category, and I’m really looking forward to the final instalment.

Favourite book: The Raven Boys.

 

Knife of Never Letting GoPatrick Ness

Books read: 7

Though I haven’t read Patrick Ness’s adult novels, I’ve loved all of his YA books. His Chaos Walking series is a favourite, and I’ve recommended it countless times. I loved More Than This too, and sometimes find myself thinking about it almost two years after reading it. Ness’s novels are always intelligent and original, with great emotional depth.

Favourite book: The Knife of Never Letting Go.

 

 

Who are your most read authors? I’d love to know!

 

 


Kendra LeightonAbout Kendra

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook

Kendra Leighton is a YA author represented by Lutyens & Rubinstein Literary Agency. Glimpse, her debut novel, is a modern ghost story inspired by Alfred Noyes’ poem ‘The Highwayman’. It was published in 2014 by Constable & Robinson.

 

 

 

 


One comment on “Kendra Leighton: My Most Read Authors

  1. Pingback: Most Read Authors | Kendra Leighton

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,208 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 120,201 hits
