AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Kate Ormand/Louise: An Unexpected Turn

kates-books-banner
When I started writing, I knew I wanted to write young-adult fiction. I signed with my agent for a YA book. My first book deal was for a YA book. My second was for a children’s picture book . . .

This all came from a conversation I had with my agent, who writes picture books and represents lots of amazing illustrators. It’s not something that happened quickly. I’d read a lot of young-adult books and had had time to mostly understand the market and the industry. Writing picture books kind of felt like starting again. It was new and scary, but exciting too, and I soon started to love them.

When my first picture book sold to Sky Pony Press, I chose to write under a different name. For YA books I’m Kate Ormand, for picture books I’m Kate Louise. I run two Twitter accounts, two Instagram accounts, two websites, crossing over where possible so they aren’t two entirely separate names — you can still discover one through the other, even though they’re mostly kept apart. My YA novels are quite dark, whereas my picture books are quite sweet and good fun. It made sense to me to write under two names at the time (and still does!).

_cfdv-aV

I’m sometimes asked if I prefer one to the other: I don’t have a preference — they both have their charms, and they both have their tough moments. I’m sometimes asked how I switch between the two: I try to focus on one project at a time where possible, to get more involved and be able to sink into that story without distraction from another in the back of my mind. But as books are at different stages at different times, this isn’t always possible. To get into the “zone” I read through my stuff before I start. If I’m working on a novel, I read what I wrote last time I sat down with it. Or if I’m starting a new picture book project, I open some of my others, getting a feel for the tone and layout to get concept, voice, theme, story, and more all into fourteen spreads — big stories, small word counts! I’m sometimes asked how writing for one age group helps with another: Thinking more visually, working as a team, and patience!

But without my agent, I doubt I’d have discovered the love of writing for such a young age group. Or met and became friends with illustrators Laura Matine, Bethany Straker, and Grace Sandford. And without my agent, I wouldn’t be where I am now with my YA books either. I’m very fortunate to be able to explore both. Things took an unexpected turn, but it’s one I’m glad I got the opportunity to take.

kate-ormandtwKate Ormand
WebsiteBlogGoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterestInstagram
Kate Ormand is YA author of DARK DAYS and THE WANDERERS. She lives in the UK with her family, her partner, and a cocker spaniel called Freddie. She graduated from university with a first class degree in Fine Art Painting. It was during this course that Kate discovered her love of reading YA books, prompting her to try a new creative angle and experiment with writing. Kate also writes children’s picture books under the name Kate Louise. Kate is represented by Isabel Atherton at Creative Authors Ltd.

1uvrCDzk_400x400Kate Louise
WebsiteBlogTwitterFacebookGoodreadsPinterestInstagram
Kate Louise is picture book author of THE UPSIDE-DOWN FISH, PIERRE THE FRENCH BULLDOG RECYCLES, and TOUGH COOKIE. She lives in the UK with her family, her partner, and a cocker spaniel called Freddie. She graduated from university with a first class degree in Fine Art Painting. It was during this course that Kate rediscovered her love of reading, prompting her to try a new creative angle and experiment with writing. And she writes YA as Kate Ormand. Kate is represented by Isabel Atherton at Creative Authors Ltd.

3 comments on “Kate Ormand/Louise: An Unexpected Turn

  1. gracesandford
    June 15, 2015

    I’m glad you were encouraged to write picture books as I wouldn’t have had the pleasure of illustrating such a brilliant story. I hope that you keep writing many more!

    • kateormand
      June 15, 2015

      Aw! Thank you, Grace. I’m so glad we got to work together on such a fun book! ❤

  2. Pingback: Writing for Different Age Groups | Kate Louise

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,180 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 116,699 hits
