AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

That Book Deal Moment… by Emma Carroll

Call me nosey but I never tire of hearing people’s book deal stories. That moment when the phone rings, the inbox pings or however, wherever it happens. There’s something of total, absolute, ‘punch the air’ joy about that moment which makes all the waiting… and waiting… and email page refreshing worthwhile.

That said, I can’t pin my book deal ‘moment’ down to just one, specific event. I remember my HUGE excitement at receiving an email from my soon-to-be agent saying how much she was loving ‘Frost Hollow Hall’. Then came the meeting in London, and afterwards joining my husband and best friend, who were waiting for me in a nearby Wagamama, and me walking Angela Ripon style down the stairs in front of the whole restaurant and saying ‘Speak to my agent’ with a waft of the hand.

Within a week Frost Hollow Hall was out on sub. Things fell quiet again. My refresh key went into overdrive. Still nothing. Then the feedback started to come- lots of nice comments, all of which got read out loud to my husband, my mum, my dad, the dogs, anyone who’d listen.

One publisher’s passion for the book stood out from the start. Faber loved Frost Hollow Hall like I did- it was an amazing and very humbling experience, and suddenly the book wasn’t just about me and little Tilly Higgins and a cranky laptop, it meant something else, something bigger.

An offer came in. There were phone calls. Other publishers to consider. But we knew Faber was the right home for Frost Hollow Hall.

The confirmation came at 3.25pm on March 15th 2012 in an email entitled: FINAL DEAL- CONGRATULATIONS! And yes, I do still have that email in my inbox. I’d just finished teaching for the day, and rushed out into the corridor whooping and squealing. The kids thought I was completely insane. Yet when I told them my news they were gobsmacked. It takes a lot to silence a crowd of year 9s. But I managed it.

 

2013-09-11 18.30.22

 

 

 

attachment

Emma Carroll
WebsiteGoodreadsTwitter
Emma Carroll writes MG fiction. Her debut ‘Frost Hollow Hall’, a Victorian ghost story, won the North East Book Award 2013 and was longlisted for the Branford Boase. Her second novel ‘The Girl Who Walked On Air’ has been nominated for the CILIP medal. Her latest book ‘In Darkling Wood’ is inspired by the Cottingley Fairies photographs, and publishes with Faber in July 2015. In another life she wishes she’d written ‘Rebecca’ by Daphne Du Maurier. Emma lives in the Somerset hills with her husband and two terriers.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2015 by and tagged , , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,225 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 122,107 hits
