AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Eve Ainsworth: Why I love my cover

Here it is, if you haven’t seen it before. My cover. I love it. It makes me happy every time I see it.

SevenDays

Many may have heard me telling the story of when I shrieked in the street after receiving the cover design via email. Jamie, the designer at Scholastic, had worked pure magic. Before it, I honestly couldn’t imagine how the cover for 7 Days would ever work. All I knew was that I wanted to have impact. I wanted people to notice it.

And I think it does just that.

The thing I noticed was the words – everywhere. And immediately I knew that it was just perfect. My book is about bullying, about how amongst other things, words can damage and follow you. With this cover, the words do follow you – they never leave. For me, that’s what it’s like to experience any targeted abuse. It’s like having your whole life on show, people can hear what’s being said about you – you suddenly feel vulnerable and exposed.

I go into schools, and without fail students will ask about the cover. They ask if I designed it (I wish), they ask if I like it (yes!) and they ask me to read the words. As I say words such as ‘freak’ and ‘fat cow’ out loud, they seem to shock even more, reminding us of the power they have.

Many people have also said they were drawn to the book simply because of the design. It drew them in, they wanted to find out more.

And that’s the thing, isn’t it – the fact that we can’t escape. Most of us do judge a book by its cover, or at least chose to have a closer look if the cover entices us. A bland, uninspiring cover is unlikely to have the same impact as a powerful, bold one. That is why it matters to have one you love and believe in. That is why, as an author, I’m so pleased I love my cover as much as I do.

It’s lovely to have a cover where its words, my words, that are drawing people in.

23Eve Ainsworth
WebsiteFacebookInstagramTwitter
Eve Ainsworth’s debut YA novel, 7 Days is a contemporary dual narrative novel focused on bullying will be published by Scholastic in Feb 2015. A second contemporary novel will be published in 2016. Eve works in a large secondary school, as a Child Protection Officer, whilst also concentrating on her writing. Eve has had competition success with her short stories, most recently in Prima and Writer’s Forum. A short story has also been published in The Weekly News. Her previous Young Adult novel, The Art of Kissing Frogs, was shortlisted for the Greenhouse Funny Prize (June 2012). She lives with her husband and two slightly nutty children in Crawley, West Sussex.

2 comments on “Eve Ainsworth: Why I love my cover

  1. barbarahenderson
    May 18, 2015

    Looks stunning!

  2. Eve Ainsworth
    May 18, 2015

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2015 by .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,260 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 127,370 hits
