AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Sarah Crossan: Rich, Famous and Happy!*

Rich, Famous and Happy!*

Look, don’t listen to these writers telling you that being published isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. We’re poor? Ha! Lonely and unrecognised? Rubbish. Unhappy and dissatisfied with almost every success? I deny this completely. I deny it all, I tell you. The truth is that we’re all loaded, famous and infinitely smug about our lot in life. So please start showing us the respect we deserve.

Firstly, who says writers aren’t rich? Pah! I’m minted, and I’d show you my diamond encrusted tiara to prove it, except my PA just locked it in the safe along with my gold bullions. And anyway, to get you into my castle you’d need to find a way over the champagne-filled moat. The helicopter is out of use at the moment, I’m afraid. Actually, I better call my agent about that, tell her to sort it ASAP. That’s what agents are for, see – getting stuff done.

Secondly, let me just confirm that, yes, writers do count as celebrities. And being a celebrity is hard. Really hard. Everyone stares at the jars of caviar in your shopping basket at Fortnum and Mason (being loaded, I won’t shop anywhere else). And just try buying Itchy Rash Cream from the chemist when everyone recognises you. It’s painful being a famous writer. Literally. Although it does have up sides obviously, like always getting a table in a busy restaurant or being invited to the Milan fashion shows. That’s cool. That’s always happening to me.

But the biggest fib writers spin is that writing does not infinitely improved the quality of one’s life. Some writers pretend that all their problems (like rising damp or ingrown toenails) didn’t vanish into thin air once they signed a publishing contract. Well, let me tell you that actually, being a writer makes all the other bad stuff go away. I’m now filled from top to toe with confidence, joy and sagacity. Not only that, but the day I got my book deal was the happiest day of my life. The birth of my daughter did come close, but you know, not quite. The book deals are what make me happy, and being a published writer is, I believe, the only way for anyone to truly become a whole person.

*This blog is a work of fiction. References to real people, events, establishments, organizations are intended only to provide a sense of authenticity, and are used to advance the fictional narrative. All other characters and incidents are drawn from the author’s imagination and are not to be construed as real.

IMG_0553Sarah Crossan
Website|Blog|Goodreads|Facebook|Twitter
Sarah Crossan writes novels for children and teens. Her debut novel in verse, The Weight of Water, was shortlisted for the Carnegie medal in 2013. Breathe was nominated for the Carnegie medal in 2014. Before writing full time, Sarah worked as an English teacher. She grew up in Ireland and England and then moved to New York, where she lived for seven years. She now lives in Hertfordshire with her family where she spends most of her day writing, sipping green tea and eating far too many biscuits.

3 comments on “Sarah Crossan: Rich, Famous and Happy!*

  1. jenni clarke
    January 16, 2015

    Love this, it really made me smile 🙂

  2. Vanessa Kings
    January 16, 2015

    Reblogged this on Vanessa Kings' Books and commented:
    Of course we are! Who dare to say we are not?

  3. Emma Haughton
    January 17, 2015

    Yes, I’ve just had one of those days where I’m even happier about being an author. It is everything it’s cracked up to be and more. I hardly have to do any work and everyone is so considerate and treats you like you’re really special.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 16, 2015 by and tagged , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,260 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 127,372 hits
