AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Kate Ormand: All Time Favourite Book Covers

When I signed up to chat about my favourite book covers I didn’t realise how hard it would be! The biggest problem was getting some kind of order and control over my selections. After much thought I decided to go around my room, pull books with amazing covers off my shelves, and take pictures of them. Simple enough, right?

So, this selection is based on the books I own, but I do have a “Book Cover Love” Pinterest board (www.pinterest.com/kateormand/book-cover-love/), which I update fairly regularly.

Now on to the books…

PIC1

  • We get a good look at the world of Kersh on the cover of Elsie Chapman’s DUALED.

  • The mechinical heart and the use of colour on THE BROKENHEARTED by Amelia Kahaney are particularly attractive. I like the lettering, too.

  • The cover of NOT A DROP TO DRINK by Mindy McGinnis is so atmospheric — the sky and the colours are just spectacular.

2014-03-12 09.45.56

  • The X-ray vision robotic leg wearing a red heel on Marissa Meyer’s CINDER is awesome.

  • THE ALMOST GIRL by Amalie Howard is so fierce! And I love the digital/circuit detail.

  • A kick-ass Jenna Strong on the cover of Emma Pass’s ACID with all that destruction around her is really cool.

2014-03-12 09.47.43

  • The cover of A DEATH-STRUCK YEAR by Makiia Lucier is striking. The big blue eyes and the lettering on the mask just drew me right in.

  • I absolutely adore the moody atmosphere and the stunning font on BETWEEN THE DEVIL AND THE DEEP BLUE SEA by April Genevieve Tucholke.

  • PANIC by Lauren Oliver is quiet but effective — almost like taking a deep breath before plunging into danger.

2014-03-12 09.49.59

  • Danielle L. Jensen’s STOLEN SONGBIRD cover is utterly stunning — a window into the world of Trollus.

  • The simplicity of the cover for THE GLIMPSE by Claire Merle makes it stand out. I love the barbed wire around the wooden heart.

  • The exotic background of Natasha Ngan’s THE ELITES is intriguing. Natasha’s world-building is fantastic and this cover illustrates the beauty of it.

Photo 23-05-2014 16 01 02

  • Amalie Howard’s ALPHA GODDESS is beautiful. I love the yellow nails, the blue-black hair, the henna, and the fiery colours around the model.

  • Of course, I love my own book cover for DARK DAYS — particularly the moody sky, the fire and destruction in the sector, and the reflection of the digital lettering.

  • The title tattooed on the arm in a creepy font on the cover of Holly Black’s THE COLDEST GIRL IN COLDTOWN is fab!

Photo 23-05-2014 16 05 59

  • I adore the colour of Zoë Marriott’s THE NIGHT ITSELF — neon pink against a black background. And the illustrations are beautiful.

  • It’s the painted bird and the textured brushstrokes that make me love the cover of THE RAVEN BOYS by Maggie Stiefvater as much as I do.

  • The fiery cover for Victoria Scott’s FIRE & FLOOD looks amazing on my bookshelf. The flames spread around to cover the spine, too!

2014-03-12 09.44.38

  • G.R. Mannering’s ROSES captures the story perfectly, and I love the shiny black vine pattern.

  • I’m sure A.G. Howard’s SPLINTERED would make every list like this one. I adore everything about it, but in particular the detail of flowers and bugs in her hair . . . whispering!

  • The painterly quality of J. Nelle Patrick’s TSARINA is something new and the cover is completely magical.

2014-03-12 09.51.02

photo 2 15.30.43

  • The absent model on the cover of Danielle Paige’s DOROTHY MUST DIE is really interesting, and I love the blood-red text.

  • The cover of THE FEARLESS by Emma Pass ties in so well with her debut ACID (featured above). The fiery backdrop gives the book a very fitting ultimate-destruction feel.

  • The block text on Yvonne Ventresca’s PANDEMIC draws the eye. The colour is lovely, and I like the bird made up of loads of tiny birds in the bottom right corner. This design continues on the inside flaps of the jacket too! Dreamy!

I’ll wrap it up there because I really could go on for-ev-er. Book covers rule, and I had a blast putting this post together. Let me know if any of these are your favourites, or if I missed any you love!

Thanks for stopping by!

authorpicKate Ormand
Website/Blog|Goodreads|Facebook|Twitter|Pinterest
KATE ORMAND is a YA writer represented by Isabel Atherton at Creative Authors Ltd. She lives in the UK with her family, her partner, and a cocker spaniel called Freddie. She recently graduated from university with a first class BA (Hons) degree in Fine Art Painting. It was during this course that Kate discovered her love of reading YA books, prompting her to try a new creative angle and experiment with writing. Kate also writes children’s picture books under the name Kate Louise.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 28, 2014 by and tagged , , , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,187 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 118,845 hits
