AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

A page from my sketchbook by Clara Vulliamy

IMG_7926

The hundreds of sketchbooks I have filled over the years are very precious to me. Not because they are full of great work (they’re not), but because they are a brilliant record of how my thoughts were developing: ideas that came off, others that would be forgotten if I couldn’t see them again on these pages.

Here, there’s a Bubble & Squeak cover idea I didn’t in the end use, and Yo-Yo from the same book pushing his ice-cream cart which I very much did.
I haven’t the foggiest idea what I meant by ‘Apple Pips, here and there! grandparents?’ – but I remember exactly what I was after with the words ‘itchy tweed’!

claraPortraitWebsite/Blog|Twitter
I was born in London, daughter of author illustrator Shirley Hughes and architect John Vulliamy. My first experience of making pictures was being allowed to use up my Mum’s paints at the end of the day, which was like scraping the icing out of the bowl after baking.
I studied Fine Art at Chelsea School of Art, The Ruskin and The Royal Academy. After graduating I began illustrating in newspapers and magazines, and doing a weekly cartoon in The Guardian. I started writing and illustrating children’s books when I had a family of my own, and I’ve been hooked ever since. I’ve made around 30 books, including The Bear with Sticky Paws, Lucky Wish Mouse and Martha and the Bunny Brothers.
I live in Twickenham with my husband, our two grown-up children and a gang of cheeky guinea pigs.

2 comments on “A page from my sketchbook by Clara Vulliamy

  1. barbarahenderson
    April 21, 2014

    Gorgeous! Bea Davenport

  2. kateormand
    April 21, 2014

    Marvellous ❤

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2014 by and tagged , , , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,180 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 116,831 hits
