AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

One year after my debut by C. J. Flood, author of Infinite Sky

Happy Valentines Day everybody!

This time last year my first book, Infinite Sky, went out to greet the world. As for me, I was in bed with a chest infection, checking the internet like a total maniac for any signs that my book had made it out there alive. Martin Chilton gave me the best Valentine’s present ever, by writing my first national paper review ever in the Telegraph, and lots of lovely bloggers offered up reviews and interviews and the like.

Infinite Sky_300

Another surprise was receiving two bouquets of incredibly beautiful flowers from the team at Simon and Schuster and my agency, Felicity Bryan. In spite of the illness, it was a magnificent day, and one I won’t forget. You can read about it on my blog, and enjoy a picture of my ill head.

The year that followed has offered up more lovely things than I expected: Infinite Sky received glorious reviews in the Guardian, Times, Daily Mail and was editor’s pick in the Bookseller. It has been longlisted for the Carnegie Medal, the Branford Boase Award and shortlisted for the Leeds Book Award and the James Reckitt Hull Children’s Book Award. It has been on lots of Top Ten Best of lists and bloggers have embraced and recommended it.

It has also been translated into German, where it is retitled Who Do You Love If I’m Dead? Which is the best title ever, and is published in a super high quality hardback with a ribbon marker which I adore. Check out the cover:

51kI60DncTL._SL500_AA300_

It will come out in the U.S. in May, providing me with the perfect excuse to cross the Atlantic for the first time. Have a look at the cover:

infinite sky us cover

Most importantly, lots of people have taken Iris, Sam and Trick to their hearts, and I have been invited by enthusiastic readers to visit schools, lead workshops in libraries, and speak on the radio. I’ve met so many wonderful people in the last year, including many of the Author Allsorts, and feel tremendously lucky to have a book out in the world.

But perhaps my favourite thing of all, is receiving handwritten letters from readers.

ellie ball review for chelsey floodyep

I’ve still not quite finished my second book, Everywhere River, but I’m working hard on it, and it will be ready soon. Set during a flood, it is the story of a young girl and her quest to save her soldier brother, and if it receives a fraction of the love that Infinite Sky has received, I will be one content author.

 

C. J. Flood is an author who dreams of being a professional table tennis player or snowboarder. She blogs and tweets and unsuccessfully avoids Facebook, so go and say hello.

M245749_chelsey_flood_ds.251

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,187 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 118,703 hits
