AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Kate Ormand: What do you do when you’re NOT writing?

I find it quite hard to switch off, so it took me a while to (almost) master what it takes to get me to relax and put my work behind me until the next day. I have quite a few things I like to do when I’ve finished a day writing to help me unwind:

Knitting

photo 4 It’s quiet and relaxing and I get a real sense of achievement when I finish something. I’m definitely not an expert, so it’s also fun learning new things.

Reading

photo I have a huge TBR pile and not all that much time to read. I do read at least a little bit every night, though.

Walking

photo 1 copy I love to walk, whatever the weather. I take my little cocker spaniel Freddie with me on some lovely routes.

TV shows/box sets

6ee41638098911e38c8722000a1faff5_7 I love watching (and re-watching!) Game of Thrones and The Walking Dead. Also really enjoying Sleepy Hollow, The Vampire Diaries, True Blood and Dracula at the moment.

Work
photo 1 I work part-time at Lush, so I go there sometimes.

Evil plans
927177bec15211e2b7a722000a9e5154_7 And other times I sit down to make evil plans.
c3e44932e3be11e29a0d22000a9f1320_7 What do you do when you’re not writing? Thanks for stopping by!

authorpicKate Ormand
Website/Blog|Goodreads|Facebook|Twitter|Pinterest
KATE ORMAND is a YA writer represented by Isabel Atherton at Creative Authors Ltd. She lives in the UK with her family, her partner, and a cocker spaniel called Freddie. She recently graduated from university with a first class BA (Hons) degree in Fine Art Painting. It was during this course that Kate discovered her love of reading YA books, prompting her to try a new creative angle and experiment with writing. Kate also writes children’s picture books under the name Kate Louise.

6 comments on “Kate Ormand: What do you do when you’re NOT writing?

  1. Rose Mannering
    January 29, 2014

    I love knitting too 🙂 perfect thing to do in the evening! Thanks for sharing, Kate xxx

    • kateormand
      January 29, 2014

      It is! I need to learn how to do more! xx

  2. What a lovely post about all the stuff you get up too! I’m most intrigued about your evil plans 😉
    (I love Sleepy Hollow at the moment too, and think that Tom Mison is a VERY handsome man…)

    • kateormand
      January 29, 2014

      *taps nose* Hehe!
      Yes it is great, and yes he is!! 😉

  3. Emma Haughton
    February 5, 2014

    A fellow knitter. Wahay! We must get together for a good yarn!(groan)

    • kateormand
      February 6, 2014

      Haha! I’m just starting out so lots to learn!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2014 by and tagged , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,264 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 129,236 hits
