AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Ask the Allsorts: What are you thankful for in 2013? And what are you looking forward to in 2014?

Fletcher Moss
I’m thankful for: An amazing year. Seeing The Poison Boy in bookshops and turning the cover face-out; Year 7 kids at school saying, “Loved your book Sir!”; joining the Allsorts; making new friends. I feel very lucky!
And excited about: Some great books out in 2014 – lots of cracking stuff by Allsorters to read in the coming months! And I’ll finish book 2 around about Easter, and start book 3 – around about Easter. Maybe I’ll get a summer holiday this year too…

Liz de Jager
I’m thankful for: getting a book deal – it’s a dream come true. But not just the book deal, I’m also hugely grateful of the support from so many friends, both in real life and online, and especially from my very understanding husband! I couldn’t have had a more amazing 2013.
And excited about: I’m going with the obvious one: being published. Not once, but twice, as the first two books in the trilogy will be out next year if all goes well – Banished in Feb 2014 and Vowed in November 2014. Can’t get more flaily than that!

Rose Mannering
I’m thankful for: My amazing family and friends who have supported me so many times throughout the year.
And excited about: To read all of the amazing books that are coming out in 2014 by Allsorts authors!

Bea Davenport
In 2013, I’m thankful that every time something apparently negative happened, something good came along to make up for it. It was an amazing, surprising time for me.
In 2014, I’m really excited about the publication of The Serpent House in June (Curious Fox) and the publication of my second cirme novel This Little Piggy (Legend Press) in October. And I wouldn’t mind another long hot summer like this year’s, please – but I know that can’t be guaranteed!

Nikki Sheehan
I’m thankful for so many things, but mainly how painless the transformation of my story from a manuscript to an actual real life book has been.
And what I’m excited about? That’s easy – my debut novel hitting the bookshelves in February!

Laura Lam
So many things to be grateful for this year. I’m thankful that my first book came out, and that it’s touched a few readers who have given back by spreading the word or sending me nice notes telling me they appreciated it. I write I think to connect with people; show them my worlds and characters and invite them to love them, too, even if I never know that they do.
And I’m excited about being able to continue Micah’s story with Shadowplay, the sequel to Pantomime, out in early January. I also have a lot of various WIPs and plans, so it’ll be really interesting to see if they come to fruition.

Bethany Straker
2013 has been my most successful year and I’m thankful for my agent, Isabel Atherton introducing me to so many exciting authors this year. I’ve had some great opportunities in creating books with Rose Mannering on ‘The Spotty Dotty Daffodil’ and Kate Ormand for ‘Pierre the French Bulldog Recycles.’ It’s been a year of collaboration and getting to know the Author Allsorts. I think working with new authors has made me feel like I belong to a community and I’m not alone!
Next year I’m working on one of my most ambitious projects, an adult humour book which deals with anxiety. It’s called ‘Why Am I Scared of Everything?’ and it will be published by Skyhorse. It’s the second book I’ve written, and the longest book I’ve worked on. I’m looking forward to completing it and can’t wait to see how it looks on the shelf.

Holly Smale
I’m thankful for the publication of my first ever book, and how warmly it was received. It was twenty-five years’ worth of dreaming, and I couldn’t have imagined so many people would love Harriet as much as I do. Thank you!
I’m looking forward to getting older and wiser. I’ve learnt a lot this year, and I hope to learn even more this time round. One day I want to be knowing and calm, like an owl. But a bit less shriek-y.

Zoe Marriott
Frankly, 2013 has sucked for me. I’ve been through more sorrow and loss this year than I’ve ever known before. But I’ve been so thankful for the kindness and support of my friends and the amazing people I work with – including (but not limited to!) my marvellous editor at Walker Books, Annalie Grainger, and my super agent Nancy Miles, and of course all the lovely fellow writers of Authors Allsorts. Each one paid an important part in my surviving in 2013. Thank you all.
I’ll be very excited to finally leave 2013 behind and try to move on with my life. I’m also so looking forward to finishing the last book of my Name of the Blade trilogy so that I can start work on the other books which have been clamouring for my attention in the back of my head for ages. First up is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast set in the same faerytale Japan as my earlier novel Shadows on the Moon. After that? Well, that would be telling!

Clara Vulliamy
I’m so thankful for the chance to work with my Mum this year; it’s been a charmed and larksome project from the first moment.
Next year there will be more of the same, a very happy-making thought.

Dan Smith
One thing to be thankful for in 2013?
Well, I know this is going to sound cheesy but, the health and happiness of all my loved ones.
One thing to be excited about/looking forward to in 2014?
Ah, well, there’s this secret project, see, but I can’t tell you anything about it; otherwise I’d have to kill you.

Kate Ormand
I’m thankful for all the lovely people I met in 2013 that I get to talk books with, and for the support they’ve given for my own. And for 2014, I’m most looking forward to the release of DARK DAYS of course!!

Emma Carroll
Things I’ve been thankful for in 2013:
Family and friends, no question. This year has ended on a real high for me, but early 2013 was a bit of a low point. My nearest and dearest stuck by me, rain or shine.
Things to look forward to in 2014:
LOTS! It’s been great fun promoting Frost Hollow Hall, so I’m really looking forward to more school visits and festivals. ‘The Girl Who Walked On Air’ comes out in August, and I’ll be getting stuck in to the first draft of book 3.

Alex Campbell
One thing I’m thankful for in 2013:
Has to be the book deal – finally after a decade of oh-so nearly, but not quite, reaching the summit, I get there – and I have to say the view is darned beautiful.
One thing I’m excited about in 2014:
Seeing my debut novel LAND published, out there, sat in bookshops (I hope), meeting readers, buying it myself (!) – and generally feeling very happy that at last I gorn and dunnit!

Abi Burlingham
In 2013, I am most thankful to my children for their love, company and for making me laugh. The most exciting thing for 2014 would have to be starting Book 2 of ‘B of D’ and submitting in Spring.

Natasha Ngan
I’m thankful for: My readers! Since THE ELITES came out in September, I’ve had the most overwhelmingly lovely response from readers across the world. Thank you to those readers who enjoyed THE ELITES and spread the world about it, and thank you also to those readers who weren’t the book’s biggest fans. Both types of reader are pushing me to write harder and better, and I can’t wait to share my new novels with them in the coming years!
I’m excited about: Not being a debut author any more! My second novel THE MEMORY KEEPERS is just so close to my heart, with two characters I couldn’t root for more, and I’m already super excited about people being able to read it and meet Seven and Alba in just under a year’s time.

Janet Edwards
I’ve been awed by the number of reviews of Earth Girl and Earth Star. Spreading the word about new authors is a huge help, so I’m very grateful to everyone who takes the time to write reviews.
My second book, Earth Star, was published in the UK and Commonwealth last August, so now I’m eagerly looking forward to the USA publication date of 15th April 2014.

Kendra Leighton
I’m thankful for all the amazing people I’ve met this year through a shared love of YA, whether through Author Allsorts, Twitter, blogs, or in real life. Book people are so lovely!
As for 2014, this goes without saying, but I’m very excited about my debut, Glimpse, being released in June. Also can’t wait to read all the other Allsorts books being released next year!

Mo O’Hara
This was a pretty exciting year for me with My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish coming out here and in the US but the think I’m must thankful for is marrying my hubbie this July. Ok, soppy part over now.
What I’m most looking forward to is lots of travelling around to schools and festivals!

Roy Gill
I’m thankful for: The chance to work in a new medium. My first script, ‘The Prime of Deacon Brodie’, was recorded and released by Big Finish Productions as part of their ‘Confessions of Dorian Gray’ audio series. It’s left me hungry to write more words for actors to perform.
As for 2014, my second novel, Werewolf Parallel, is released in March (alongside a new edition of Daemon Parallel). I’ve been working on it all this year – and the original idea dates back even further than that. I’m hoping it will find new readers – and please those who’ve been asking for a sequel… So no pressure there, then!

Imogen Howson
One thing you’re thankful for in 2013:
The support and enthusiasm about LINKED, from all the friends and family who went straight out to buy a copy—and who send me photos of it whenever they spot it in the wild!
One thing you’re excited about/looking forward to in 2014:
The release of the sequel to LINKED: UNRAVEL. I’ve already had some emails from readers looking forward to reading it, which is very exciting!

Emma Pass
The thing I’m most thankful for goes without saying: all the support I’ve had from family, friends, agent and publisher in my debut year. I wouldn’t have been able to do it without them. It’s been amazing!
And in 2014, I get to do it all over again when THE FEARLESS launches in April. I can’t wait!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Emma Pass Photo
Emma Pass
Website|Blog|Goodreads|Facebook|Twitter
Emma Pass has been making up stories for as long as she can remember. Her debut novel, ACID, is out now, and will be followed by another stand-alone thriller for young adults, THE FEARLESS, on 24th April 2014. By day, she works as a library assistant and lives with her husband and crazy greyhound G-Dog in the North East Midlands.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 30, 2013 by .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,180 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 116,831 hits
