AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Kate Ormand – What I Read

Growing up, I read Roald Dahl. As a teen, I read Louise Rennison. As I got a little older (mid-high school to university) I didn’t read at all. Well, rarely. I didn’t really know much about the different genres. I didn’t have a favourite author anymore. I didn’t have a clue what I liked to read. After several failed attempts at finding a book I could connect with, I decided I didn’t like reading anymore and the only time I would read was when I was on holiday. *sobs*

1 Roald Dahl

I went to Florida in 2011 and bought a book to take with me. I chose one from the general fiction shelves, as always, and I didn’t like it, as always. After attempting a few chapters I gave up and asked my mum to choose a book for me from Walmart. I said, “Something I know. Something you think I’ll like.” She came back with Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. 10 points to Mum!

2 HP

It’s an understatement to say I loved it. I couldn’t believe how it was making me feel – a book! I will never forget that, because starting that book turned everything around. I finished it in days – rushing dinner to get back to it, taking it with me in the car, reading it by the pool – which is why it’s so battered, as you can see from the photograph. I’m really careful with my books now, but I do like this one because you can see how loved it is. It was my first Harry Potter book and I’ll treasure it forever.

As soon as I was nearing the end of this book I rushed out to buy Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I continued with the series when I got home and there were tears once I finished all seven. Then I needed more books, but I still didn’t know what to read. I went with A Series of Unfortunate Events, Twilight and The Southern Vampire Mysteries (True Blood). Love, love, love, so what next?

3 Snicket

Next I discovered Goodreads. I spent time searching the internet for “If you like [insert title], you’ll like…” and came across the site. I found authors like Maggie Stiefvater, Jackson Pearce and Amanda Hocking. Amazing! I needed bookshelves!

4 Stiefvater

Then came The Hunger Games. I got the set for Christmas 2011 and started the first book in January. Nine pages in I said to my mum, “I’m going to love this, I can tell already.” And I did.

5 THG

Now I rarely read anything but YA. Though, I do occasionally read some adult and NA, one or two graphic novels, and I LOVE picture books.

6 PBs

Harry Potter got me reading daily again. Maggie Stievafter’s books led me to discover YA. And The Hunger Games pointed me in the direction of dystopia, opening the door to a genre I fell in love with.

So, what do I read? Let me show you…

7 Dystopia

Dystopia

8 Retellings

Fairy tale retellings

9 Fantasy

Fantasy

10 Paranormal

Paranormal

11 Thriller

Thrillers

12 Contemp

Contemporary

This is just a selection of books from my shelves in the genres highlighted. Do you see any books you love? Any books that stand out? Any that are new to you? Let me know in the comments! Happy reading 🙂

authorpicKate Ormand
Blog|Goodreads|Facebook|Twitter
Kate Ormand is a YA writer represented by Isabel Atherton at Creative Authors Ltd. She lives in the UK with her family, her partner, and a cocker spaniel called Freddie. She recently graduated from university with a first class BA (Hons) degree in Fine Art Painting. DARK DAYS, her YA dystopian debut, will be published with Skyhorse/Sky Pony Press in June 2014. Kate also writes children’s picture books as Kate Louise. PIERRE THE FRENCH BULLDOG RECYCLES, illustrated by Bethany Straker, will be published in 2015.

7 comments on “Kate Ormand – What I Read

  1. dansmithsbooks
    September 25, 2013

    Great post Kate – and some well loved books!

    • kateormand
      September 25, 2013

      Thank you, Dan. I wish I could have included all my books, but it would have been a very very long post!

  2. Clover
    September 25, 2013

    What a lovely post! I’ve heard from a lot of people who struggled with what to read after a certain age. I’m so glad that you found your way back to books in the end 🙂

    And I love so many of the books you’ve included. Especially the fairy tale retellings and thrillers. I love a good YA thriller!

    • kateormand
      September 25, 2013

      Same ;)! Thank you, lovely. I’m so glad I found my way back too!

  3. Ingrid Jonach (@IngridJonach)
    September 25, 2013

    It looks like I am going to be adding a few more books to my TBR pile. I have been keen to read Cinder just for that cover ❤

    • kateormand
      September 25, 2013

      Hehe! That’s still on my TBR but v.keen to get to it soon. I agree the cover is beautiful!

  4. Pingback: Author Allsorts: What I Read | Kate Ormand

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 25, 2013 by and tagged , , , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,248 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 123,147 hits
