AUTHOR ALLSORTS

A group of published UK-based authors and illustrators of picture books, children's and YA.

Inspiring Creativity in Young People

There’s nothing more happy-making than seeing small folk utterly absorbed in making and doing, whether writing a story or painting a picture or cutting and sticking… their pride in their creations, the way they soak up praise like a thirsty plant soaks up water – beginning a whole life of having creativity in the veins.

But how to sow those seeds and help them grow?

I believe in facilitating and not steering. My Mum and Dad, both artistic, never exactly taught me anything. But they left appetizing materials lying around, showed evident joy in their own activities, and left me to it. It’s great to get involved too: you don’t have to be ‘good’ at it yourself – they will admire anything you do, just have a go!

I do a lot of arty crafty workshops with children in schools and at book festivals, and I’m especially keen on creative projects to enhance and extend their joy in stories.

We have made a LOT of felt bunnies.

AllsortsOne

These are some of the top tips that work for me…

Far better to buy a few high quality art materials than lots of duff stuff aimed at children. There is more delicious rich pigment in these three tubes of paint than in a whole box of cheap paints:

AllsortsTwo

Don’t just stick to art shops for inspiration. I have a bit of a THING about haberdashery – nothing more inspiring than some soft fabric, shiny ribbon and gorgeous buttons!

AllsortsThree

And we’ve spent many a happy hour choosing bits and pieces in the ironmongery section – I can almost see the robot or space rocket possible out of this lot:

AllsortsFour

AND (a gasp of horror and intake of breath – don’t sue me!) at some point children do need to know how to use proper tools safely: sharp scissors, a glue gun, a craft knife. Plus one day you’ll have a really capable grown up who can put up a shelf and put down a carpet…

Children make up stories naturally, it’s all part of playing.
The more they are read to and talked with, the richer their language and the more imaginative their ideas. Try making up stories together – take turns in adding a bit as you plod along on your walk, or chat together at bedtime.

Lastly, I can’t take any credit for this story – I just glimpsed it on the wall in a school one day. But I do love it so much.

AllsortsFive

‘If I was a princess live in a castle with my prince and eat jelly and wear a purple flowery dress.’
All I can say is, so would I…

claraPortraitClara Vulliamy
Website/Blog|Twitter
I was born in London, daughter of author illustrator Shirley Hughes and architect John Vulliamy. My first experience of making pictures was being allowed to use up my Mum’s paints at the end of the day, which was like scraping the icing out of the bowl after baking.
I studied Fine Art at Chelsea School of Art, The Ruskin and The Royal Academy. After graduating I began illustrating in newspapers and magazines, and doing a weekly cartoon in The Guardian. I started writing and illustrating children’s books when I had a family of my own, and I’ve been hooked ever since. I’ve made around 30 books, including The Bear with Sticky Paws, Lucky Wish Mouse and Martha and the Bunny Brothers.
I live in Twickenham with my husband, our two grown-up children and a gang of cheeky guinea pigs.

3 comments on “Inspiring Creativity in Young People

  1. Zoe
    April 23, 2013

    Think you’ve nailed it on the head Clara! Facilitation, enticing materials, opportunity, and as a grown up showing the enjoyment you yourself (oneself) gets from trying things out, playing, creating.

  2. Pingback: Author Allsorts: Posts About Picture Books | Kate Louise

  3. kerryldrewery
    August 16, 2017

    Reblogged this on AUTHOR ALLSORTS and commented:

    It’s Throwback Week her at Author Allsorts, and with it being summer holidays too, we thought this might be good!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2013 by and tagged , , , .

Instagram

Today's post is by @helengrantsays, about feeding your muse. Follow the bio link to read more! #helengrant #creativity #writing #writingblog #authorblogs #authorallsorts On the blog today, @lizdejagerwriter talks social media and shares a page from her gorgeous journal. Follow the bio link to see more! #lizdejager #authors #authorallsorts #authorblogs #writing #journaling #socialmedia #instagram #twitter #facebook

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,267 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 129,257 hits
